Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part 1)

I’m not sure why I am writing this. I don’t know where to start. I’m not exactly a Harry Potter fan. I just watch the Potter movies for the sake of curiosity. Maybe for entertainment as well. So basically, I can’t recall the plot in detail – especially since there are A LOT of (1) characters whose names I cannot remember, (2) magical terms, be it about spells or wands or places, (3) background stories that are interlinked with one another and overlapping in a sense. Pardon me. So what would you get from this post, I guess, is a perspective from a non-Potter fan.

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Part 1) is a continuation of Harry’s quest to defeat Lord Voldemort – through finding and destroying his secret to immortality, the horcruxes. If I am not mistaken, a horcrux is an object used to store one’s soul, for HP it’s Voldemort’s, so that in the event one dies, he still has a means of surviving (i.e. being immortal). While in their quest, Harry, Ron and Hermione discovered a repeating symbol: the Deathly Hallows. These includes a wand (the Elder Wand), a stone (the Resurrection Stone), and a cloak (the Cloak of Invisibility). The legend of the three wizards is a fascinating one, especially how they thought to trick the Angel of Death and how it tricked them back. But long story short, whoever possesses the three magical objects becomes the most powerful wizard. So the Horcruxes plus the Deathly Hollows equals an invincible Voldemort and the end of the world.

This is the darkest Potter movie I have seen by far, with the exception of part 2 of course. Definitely because Hogwarts is no longer a school for young wizards but the last line of defense of the good forces against the bad ones. The scene I remember the most is the death of Dobby, the house elf. It’s just sad, like Dumbledore’s in the previous installment. Sacrifice, I guess. All epic movies have that.

Overall, I actually enjoyed the movie. I understood the plot… just don’t ask too specific questions like who is this, who is that and request me to name those amazing things. I don’t know. Hahaha! I’m excited to see Part 2!!! ☺

Leave a Reply

