Wide Awake

I’m wide awake
Yeah, I was in the dark
I was falling hard
With an open heart
I’m wide awake
How did I read the stars so wrong

I’m wide awake
And now it’s clear to me
That everything you see
Ain’t always what it seems
I’m wide awake
Yeah, I was dreaming for so long

I wish I knew then
What I know now
Wouldn’t dive in
Wouldn’t bow down
Gravity hurts
You made it so sweet
Till I woke up on
On the concrete

Falling from cloud 9
Crashing from the high
I’m letting go tonight
(Yeah I’m) Falling from cloud 9

Thunder rumbling
Castles crumbling
I am trying to hold on
God knows that I tried
Seeing the bright side
But I’m not blind anymore…’cause I’m… wide awake

– Katy Perry (Wide Awake)

Ever felt like a certain song is written for you? Yeah, a lot of girls and girls-at-heart must have related to Katy’s new song. Maybe drawn out of her personal experiences, the song just expresses how a fairy tale could end up like mess. The prince charming turned into a liar frog. And the princess? Well, she still is a princess… sans the glittery tiara, the beautiful white horse, and the lovely castle. Her heart is broken, but her spirit never will. Chos!

We all go through this stage. For those who haven’t, maybe you must have done something really good in your past life (like save an entire country!). Haha! No, kidding aside, they say you have to go through hell to become a better version of yourself. And it is wrong to compare your misfortunes aka trials with those of others. That is unfair, to you and to the other person, because you do not know exactly what he/she is going through.

So after all the drama, there comes a time when you just wake up. It’s over. Then you just start again.

 

Leave a Reply

